Image alt txt
MeLCat Advisory Committee

MeLCat Advisory Committee

MeLCat Advisory Committee

Page Content

Eagle eye photo of a meeting

Purpose

To advise the State Librarian on policies for the statewide catalog and resource-sharing system. Specific areas of focus include:

  • Database standards
  • MeLCat system evaluation
  • Borrowing and lending policies and best practices

Membership

Members are appointed after a nomination process for two-year staggered terms. On average there are 14 members, representing a variety of types of libraries and library automation systems from across the state. One or more MeLCat staff may attend meetings to answer questions and provide background information on specific issues. Membership will be comprised of people with a wide range of expertise in such areas as interlibrary loan, cataloging, circulation, shared cataloging creation and management, and resource sharing in individual as well as shared library systems. Bringing together staff with such a wide range of backgrounds will promote an integrated approach to policy design and problem solving. When necessary, subcommittees and task forces will be created to address specific issues.

Current Committee Members

2018-2019

Name (Term End) Library Phone number Email
Anne Barnard (2018) Orion Township Public Library 248-693-3000 x339 abarnard@orionlibrary.org
Bryonna Barton (2018) Mulliken District Library 517-649-8611 mulldistlib@gmail.com
Gina Bolger (2018) Cornerstone University 616-254-1650 x1245 gina.bolger@cornerstone.edu
Liz Breed (Co-Chair) Library of Michigan 517-373-4466 breedl@michigan.gov
Ed Burns (2020) Ferndale Area District Library 248-547-6000 edburnsiii@ferndalepubliclibrary.org
Anita Chouinard (2020) Traverse Area District Library 231-932-8529 achouinard@tadl.org
Maria Danna (2018) Oakland County Law Library 248-452-9210 dannam@oakgov.com
Denise Dorantes (2020) Dearborn Public Library 313-943-2811 ddorantes@ci.dearborn.mi.us
Joelle Hannert (2020) Northwestern Michigan College 231-995-1684 jhannert@nmc.edu
Anne Heidemann (2018) Saginaw Chippewa Tribal Libraries 989-775-4508 aheidemann@sagchip.org
Paul Lutenske (2018) Public Libraries of Saginaw 989-755-9833 plutenske@saginawlibrary.org
Abigayle Quinlan (2020) Cheboygan Area Public Library 231-627-2381 quinlanabigayle@gmail.com
Debbi Schaubman (Co-Chair) Midwest Collaborative for Library Services 517-394-2420 schaubmand@mcls.org
Kathy Schoen (2020) Grand Rapids Community College 616-234-3749 kschoen@grcc.edu
Don Todaro Library of Michigan 517-373-2583 todarod@michigan.gov
Aaron Tomak (2018) Michigan State University 517-884-6465 tomakaar@mail.lib.msu.edu
Jill Wioskowski (2020) Dearborn Heights City Libraries 313-791-3800 jwioskowski@ci.dearborn-heights.mi.us
Natalie Zebula (2018) Lawrence Technological University 248-204-3000 nzebula@ltu.edu

Meetings

Meetings are held three times per year or as needed.

Meeting Minutes:

Meeting Minutes March 9, 2018

Meeting Minutes January 12, 2018

Meeting Minutes October 13, 2017

Meeting Minutes August 31, 2016

Meeting Minutes April 13, 2016

Meeting Minutes August 19, 2015

Meeting Minutes March 4, 2015

Meeting Minutes November 5, 2014

Archive of meeting minutes 2010-2013 hosted at the Internet Archive.

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Additional funding is provided by the State of Michigan and the Library of Michigan Foundation.

Library of Michigan Institute of Museum and Library Services Michigan Department of Education