Skip to main content

Page Content

Eagle eye photo of a meeting


To advise the State Librarian on policies for the statewide catalog and resource-sharing system. Specific areas of focus include:

  • Database standards
  • MeLCat system evaluation
  • Borrowing and lending policies and best practices


Members are appointed after a nomination process for two-year staggered terms. On average there are 14 members, representing a variety of types of libraries and library automation systems from across the state. One or more MeLCat staff may attend meetings to answer questions and provide background information on specific issues. Membership will be comprised of people with a wide range of expertise in such areas as interlibrary loan, cataloging, circulation, shared cataloging creation and management, and resource sharing in individual as well as shared library systems. Bringing together staff with such a wide range of backgrounds will promote an integrated approach to policy design and problem solving. When necessary, subcommittees and task forces will be created to address specific issues.

Current Committee Members


Name (Term End) Library Phone number Email
Anne Barnard (2018) Orion Township Public Library 248-693-3000 x339
Bryonna Barton (2018) Mulliken District Library 517-649-8611
Gina Bolger (2018) Cornerstone University 616-254-1650 x1245
Liz Breed (Co-Chair) Library of Michigan 517-373-4466
Ed Burns (2020) Ferndale Area District Library 248-547-6000
Anita Chouinard (2020) Traverse Area District Library 231-932-8529
Abigayle Cronan (2020) Cheboygan Area Public Library 231-627-2381
Denise Dorantes (2020) Dearborn Public Library 313-943-2811
Joelle Hannert (2020) Northwestern Michigan College 231-995-1684
Anne Heidemann (2018) Saginaw Chippewa Tribal Libraries 989-775-4508
Paul Lutenske (2018) Public Libraries of Saginaw 989-755-9833
Debbi Schaubman (Co-Chair) Midwest Collaborative for Library Services 517-394-2420
Kathy Schoen (2020) Grand Rapids Community College 616-234-3749
Don Todaro Library of Michigan 517-373-2583
Aaron Tomak (2018) Michigan State University 517-884-6465
Jill Wioskowski (2020) Dearborn Heights City Libraries 313-791-3800
Natalie Zebula (2018) Lawrence Technological University 248-204-3000


Meetings are held three times per year or as needed.

Meeting Minutes:

Meeting Minutes March 9, 2018

Meeting Minutes January 12, 2018

Meeting Minutes October 13, 2017

Meeting Minutes August 31, 2016

Meeting Minutes April 13, 2016

Meeting Minutes August 19, 2015

Meeting Minutes March 4, 2015

Meeting Minutes November 5, 2014

Archive of meeting minutes 2010-2013 hosted at the Internet Archive.